The Seven Rila lakes Heaven in Bulgaria

seven Rila lakes

The Seven Rila Lakes are the devine and heaven in Bulgaria, attracting many foreign visitors.

The Seven Rila lakes are a group of glacial lakes, situated in the northwesternRila mountains. They are the most visited group of lakes in Bulgaria. The lakes are situated between 2,100 and 2,500 metres elevation above sea level.

Each lake carries a name associated with its most characteristic feature. The highest one is called The Tear due to its clear waters that allow visibility in depth. The next one in height carries the name The Eye after its almost perfectly oval form.The Eye is the deepest one in Bulgaria, with a depth of 37.5 m.

The Kidney is the lake with the steepest shores of the entire group. The Twin is the largest one by area.The Trefoil has an irregular shape and low shores. The shallowest lake is Ribnoto Ezero (“The Fish Lake”) and the lowest one is Dolnoto Ezero (“The Lower Lake”), where the waters that flow out of the other lakes are gathered to form the Dzherman River.

The Seven Lakes are a tourist attraction in Bulgaria because of its natural environment. The lakes are located one above the other and are connected by small streams, which form tiny waterfalls and cascades.

 The best time to visit the lakes is summer in July and August.

Latest offers

Plovdiv one day tour

Melnik one day tour

Rila Monastery, 1-day Tour